sponsored byACMIEEE The International Conference for High Performance 
Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusLinkedInYouTubeFlickr

Nominations for SC15 Cray, Fernbach and Kennedy Awards due July 1

AUSTIN, Texas–Each year, the global supercomputing community honors a handful of the leading contributors to the field with the presentation of the IEEE Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award, the IEEE Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award and the ACM-IEEE Ken Kennedy Award. Nominations for these awards to be presented at SC15 in Austin are now open and the submission deadline is Wednesday, July 1, 2015.
Recipients of this year’s awards will give special presentations during SC15, to be held Nov. 15-20 at the Austin Convention Center. Here are descriptions of the three awards:
IEEE Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award
Established in 1997, the IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray. Previous winners have been recognized for design, engineering and intellectual leadership in creating innovative and successful HPC systems. One of HPC’s most prestigious awards, winners receive an illuminated certificate and a $10,000 honorarium at a special awards session during the conference. Learn more at: http://www.computer.org/web/awards/cray
IEEE Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award
The IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award was established in 1992 in honor of Sidney Fernbach, one of the pioneers in the development and application of high performance computers for solving large computational problems. Nominations that recognize creation of widely-used and innovative software packages, application software and tools are especially solicited. The Fernbach award winner receives a certificate and $2,000. Learn more at: http://www.computer.org/web/awards/fernbach
ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award
The ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy Award, established in 2009, is presented for outstanding contributions to programmability or productivity in computing, together with significant community service or mentoring contributions. The award was established in memory of Ken Kennedy, the founder of Rice University's nationally ranked computer science program and one of the world's foremost experts on high performance computing. Awardees receive a certificate and a $5,000 honorarium. Learn more at: http://www.computer.org/web/awards/kennedy.
Questions on the awards may be directed to: awards@info.supercomputing.org.
About SC15
SC15, sponsored by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and the IEEE Computer Society, offers a complete technical program, programs for students and educators in HPC, and an exhibition that together showcase the many ways high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis lead to advances in scientific discovery, research, education and commerce. This premier international conference includes a globally attended technical program, workshops, tutorials, a world class exhibit area, demonstrations and opportunities for hands-on learning.
Contact: SC15 Communications: communications@info.supercomputing.org