sponsored byACMIEEE The International Conference for High Performance 
Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusLinkedInYouTubeFlickr

SCHEDULE: NOV 15-20, 2015

When viewing the Technical Program schedule, on the far righthand side is a column labeled "PLANNER." Use this planner to build your own schedule. Once you select an event and want to add it to your personal schedule, just click on the calendar icon of your choice (outlook calendar, ical calendar or google calendar) and that event will be stored there. As you select events in this manner, you will have your own schedule to guide you through the week.

BurstFS: A Distributed Burst Buffer File System for Scientific Applications

SESSION: Regular & ACM Student Research Competition Poster Reception

EVENT TYPE: Posters, Receptions, ACM Student Research Competition

EVENT TAG(S): HPC Beginner Friendly, Regular Poster

TIME: 5:15PM - 7:00PM

SESSION CHAIR(S): Michela Becchi, Manish Parashar, Dorian C. Arnold

AUTHOR(S):Teng Wang, Kathryn Mohror, Adam Moody, Weikuan Yu, Kento Sato

ROOM:Level 4 - Lobby


Large-scale scientific applications on leadership computing facilities usually generate
colossal amount of scientific datasets. These datasets impose a great challenge to the backend
storage systems for timely data service. Recently, the idea of burst buffer was proposed as a
promising storage solution to cope with the exploding data pressure. Node-local burst buffers, which locate on the individual compute node, have been already deployed on several HPC
systems. Despite of their great potential for massive scalability, there is still a lack of software solution to leverage such storage architecture. In this study, we propose BurstFS, a distributed burst buffer file system, to exploit the node-local burst buffers, and provide scientific
applications with efficient, scalable I/O service. Our initial evaluation demonstrated that BurstFS increased bandwidths by 1.83X and its performance scaled linearly with the number of involved processes.

Chair/Author Details:

Michela Becchi, Manish Parashar, Dorian C. Arnold (Chair) - University of Missouri|Rutgers University|University of New Mexico|

Teng Wang - Florida State University

Kathryn Mohror - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Adam Moody - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Weikuan Yu - Florida State University

Kento Sato - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Add to iCal  Click here to download .ics calendar file

Add to Outlook  Click here to download .vcs calendar file

Add to Google Calendarss  Click here to add event to your Google Calendar